“…under the bed.”

Did any of you hymn-singin’, grew-up-in-church people ever play the add a phrase game? It’s the game where you add a phrase to the end of hymn titles and then giggle? For example, “Nearer My God To Thee” becomes “Nearer My God To Thee, Under the Bed” or the truly scandalous, “My Jesus, I Love Thee…Under the Bed”. I was indoctrinated into this practice the first time I met my future mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law. Lifelong women of God with a twinkle(and a little mischief) in their eyes!

Lysa TerKeurst writes of something similar in today’s Proverbs 31 Ministries daily devotion. She proposes adding the phrase, “so that I can love who?” to the end of bible verses. Here is an excerpt:

I started reading Bible verses by adding on a little question/challenge to myself at the end: “… so that I can love who?”

For example, Romans 12:2a, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind” (NIV) … so that I can love who?

There is someone in my life who needs my love but I’ll only be able to do it if I let God change my mindset. I need to add this little pop – a new expression of my faith through love.

Philippians 4:19, “And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus” (NIV) … so that I can love who?

She notes that adding this little pop to our regular everyday lives can give us a fresh motivation to live out our faith. Couldn’t we all use a little something new? To read the entire devotion by Lysa, click here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

