And so it begins…

And they’re off! I was one of the looneys out there this morning around 5 am trying to catch a couple bargains. As a stay-at-home mom in a one income home, I consider it part of my job description. To tell you the truth, I wasn’t all that impressed this year. Last year I just about cleaned up, especially for the kids. This year, not so much. We’re not into giant Bratz & Cinderella dolls or giant playsets which had great prices. And had I needed anything electronic, that would be a different story too. Glad I didn’t–utter chaos and mayhem. As a matter of fact, I was warned by one shopper as she packed up her car, not to venture into the electronics dept. of the store I was entering. Apparently she heard that Security had been paged. Nice. Fa la la la down on the floor with your hands behind your head. I saw a police van parked out front of a different store. ‘Tis the season to be jolly? Yikes.

I cannot believe that people were out at 8 pm Thanksgiving night to stand in line for the 12 am opening in some places. Or lining up at 2 & 3 am. I’m not THAT diehard. I like to grab some coffee and read through my lists and ads one more time in the parking lot. Then I go in light–no coat, no purse, just the phone, car key, debit card & driver’s license in my pocket. I can move quickly and stealthily–darting down an abandoned storage container or cat litter aisle to the temporary displays set up just for the 5am-11am doorbuster sale. I just think its tons of fun to see people pillaging shelves & loading up carts and seeing the conquests! I talked with one woman who would barely let me by. She was waiting for a salesperson to get something off the top shelf for her “baby” and she didn’t want to lose her place. Its a very goal-driven day. She was good natured about it and I understood completely how she felt. Its an adrenaline rush being able to provide some happiness and gratification for our babies–no matter their age. Especially at a bargain price. I have fun with it all and try to smile as much as possible. I know what I’ve signed up for and I’m fine with it. I made it to 4 stores in 3 towns and 2 counties in 2 1/2 hours. 5 if you include the coffee.

But as I said, I wasn’t very successful this year as far as the haul. I got a couple of the main things I wanted including matching jammies for the kids to wear Christmas Eve. Don’t worry about giving it away; they can’t read. I did however miss out on the 50% off Buzz Lightyear and Tumbletime Tigger. So hey, keep me informed if you see a sale coming. What am I talking about? That’ll be every week for the next 30 days. Already my son, “Mom, is Christmas tomorrow?” And of course I say, “No son, its in 30 days. So if you count to 60 43,200 times, it’ll be Christmas.” And he says, “ok”. Don’t know if he’ll take the challenge. The clock is ticking!!

Leave a Reply

