Snow Biz

Yes, I’ll join the rest of us blogging about all the snow we got today. About 10″ I think. How fun! I love a good snow storm. Of course I don’t have to leave my house to go to work and we had a snow day–would have felt differently if I had to bundle up everyone to get Maddie to Kindergarten by 8 am. Instead, we bundled up and the entire family “shoveled” the driveway. Last month, I purchased 3 kid-sized snow shovels for my 3 kid-sized kids. And they have been waiting for this moment ever since. I’m surprised they let me feed them breakfast this morning. Maddie was in her snowsuit by the time the pancakes hit the table. I think they shoveled for about 5 minutes and then went off on their snow adventures. Maddie(5) kept trying to instigate a snowball fight but alas, I was too busy so I just threw shovelfuls of snow at her instead. She took it well, gave up on me and decided to hike the snowplow created mountain range. JD(4) and his sister Annaliese(2 1/2) just ran around our yard, falling on their faces eating snow. Running and falling and licking, running and falling and licking. Finally had to tell them not to eat the snow the plow had pushed into the yard. They didn’t care.

Finally after all the mittens and scarves were soaked, the wailing and gnashing of teeth began. Annaliese’s hands were cold and wet, JD had decided to go inside because he was wet and cold–then began to scream that he was all alone in the house(a certain insult to his brothers the dog and cat). Maddie just didn’t want to come in because we hadn’t built the snowman yet. About the only thing that relieves this kind of pain is the tried and true hot chocolate bribe. And I used it unashamedly.

So yeah, I love a good snow storm. Piles of coats, boots, hats, mittens and scarves left in the entryway, red cheeks, sweaty hair, runny noses. The good life.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by NobodyCarez on March 22, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Just stop

    Reply

Leave a Reply

