Say a prayer

I took my dog out for his last hoorah of the evening. Its about 13 degrees out there. I was waiting and hoping he would be quick about it because I just wanted to get back inside my warm house and go to bed.

On cold nights like this, I say a quick prayer asking God to please let there be no homeless person who has to stay outside overnight. I hate being cold and not getting enough sleep. Then I think of a homeless man or woman or family that is always cold and tired. They have no rest. Those thoughts compel me to pray. Dear God, take care of them tonight in some way and please don’t let me complain at all. Give them relief and hope. Show yourself mightily to them in their time of need. I have several friends who are warriors against the plight of the homeless–one of whom has been homeless himself and does everything he can to make sure that in our relatively affluent area, no one goes hungry or without their basic needs met. I can’t imagine what circumstances have brought a homeless person to their situation. I suppose its not necessarily my business to know that but to reach out and help “the least of these” as Jesus said. Right now, my way is to pray when prompted.

Let’s all take a little notice of those thoughts that fly through our head in the rush of the day and stop for a minute. Shoot up a prayer no matter how rudimentary or inadequate it may seem. Ask God to reveal what you can do to bless someone and give just a little relief to get them through one more day. You’d be amazed at the return on your investment.

Leave a Reply

