Brave

I have a friend. I call her a friend even though we don’t travel in the same circles often. But when we are together, she makes you feel like she’s known you since grade school and you’re the only person in the room. She is powerful, beautiful, creative, smart, talented. She has cancer. A very aggressive breast cancer. She was diagnosed about the time I was let off the hook.

She and her husband had a Brittney Spears party. As she is just beginning some aggressive chemo, she wanted to shave her head before the chemo beat her to it. Her husband joined her in shaving his head. Her teenage son helped with the shaving too. They just passed along the pictures to us over the weekend. I think she looks better than Brittney personally.

I am so proud of her. She’s been given a 50% stat regarding the success of chemotherapy. And she’s scared. But brave. She is fighting the cancer and letting us help. I am so proud of her. I wish I could be that brave and that open. Which is what makes her such a phenomenal woman in the first place.

Do you know a phenomenal woman? What’s she like?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Penseroso on March 13, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Every now and then I think about “The Big C”, and what it must be like when it creeps up on you, taps you on the shoulder and says, “Pssst, your turn”. It’s not right.

    Reply

  2. Very motivating. God bless her and you for bringinging such a inspiring story to us.

    Reply

  3. I do know one, and thanks for inviting us to share. Her name is Sheri, and she is the most caring human I know. She’s dedicated her life, literally, to helping others. She helps sick babies by profession, and everyone else, including me personally, out of love.

    She’s just been diagnosed with a stage 4 cancer, which I’m sure most of you know means that long-term survival rates don’t look fantastic.

    And she still goes on caring. And she still shows her spirit, her love of God and others, and more life and energy than the rest of us have on a normal day. She told someone at work the other day that they should go with her to have chemo if they really wanted to see what was important in life. Amen, sister!

    I’d appreciate your prayers for her as I will for your friend. It’s always hard to understand how this could happen to folks like them. So we keep on praying…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

