nit picking

Oh my gosh, I decided to (ahem) restart trying to catch up on my 6-9 months of being behind on daily bible readings, and I stumbled onto one of my favorite verses Prov 19:11 “A man’s wisdom gives him patience; it is to his glory to overlook an offense.” One of the most valuable lessons I have ever learned–sometimes it is ok to just move on and not take something to heart. Man, I wish I’d learned that years ago. Would have saved me a lot of time, energy, and pain. And it would have made me more loving to the people I nit picked–you know who you are.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for your post and this bible reading. I will go and check it out. Sometimes it’s hard for me to overlook an offense.

    I was wondering if you think it’s okay to, say, “flare up”, then when you get the chance to think, let things go. This is how I usually react, and I can’t seem to stop the flare ups. The flare ups consist of me venting to my husband… which, of course, he doesn’t really appreciate. Thinking before I react is something that happens too few and far between.

    Reply

  2. It is a constant struggle I have to be more patient. I am definitely more patient than I was as a teenager, but that’s not saying much, is it?

    Thanks for the reminder… 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kristen Jones on March 30, 2007 at 10:38 am

    That is such a hard lesson! I am consitently trying to teach my kids how to do this now so that when they get old like me they maybe won’t struggle with it so much. Mike and I decided when they were little that we would teach them before they even knew what it meant to say, “I forgive you” when someone says they are sorry. And when they were very little I am sure they didn’t have a clue as to what that meant or what was really happening when they said it. But as they have grown we have explained to them that when they feel something wrong has been done to them, you forgive. Whether that person asked for the forgiveness or not. Then you leave it behind. Your part is done. You can’t control how others will handle it and sometimes that other person is never ready to ask for forgiveness but that is not your responsibility you did what you needed to do when you said I fogive you. And don’t just say the words really let go. And it is funny that they are MUCH better at it then I am.

    Sorry just rambling.

    Kristen

    Reply

  4. dragonmommie – I guess in this verse I think of the things like someone making a thoughtless remark when they’re usually not characterized by that; or getting the wrong food in the drive thru :). I tell you this because in the past, if there was something as trivial as getting my food order wrong, I blew it into a quality control issue that could bring the restaurant to ruin if it didn’t get corrected! Seriously, it was a leadership method I was taught that took me years to back off of. You’re bringing to mind some funny things my husband does when I get it the flare up zone. I think I’ll do that in its own post. Thanks!

    mama-patience, yeah, what is that?

    kristen- we do that with our kids too. Sometimes they don’t want to forgive and we point out how crabby they feel and that they’d rather enjoy their day than sulking. And if they don’t say the words right away, I kind of watch them to see if it builds into something else. If yes, we talk about how their unforgiveness affects everything else. Its funny to watch when they were really small how they say I forgive you, give a hug and a kiss and get on with playing together. Wish we let it be that easy as “old” people huh?

    Reply

  5. Joni… just read your response. I’ve been working at smothering the flare ups. My DH is a great example of patience, sometimes to the point of incredibility. The other day I got the wrong sandwich at a drive thru, even after the clerk confirmed it, which really blew my mind, but I just kept it, chuckling at the next person who got MY sandwich… I think I got the better of the deal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

