Doug went to a conference

You can see all the things he saw and learned at his site. What I learned on the same day…

– 4 year old boys can pee off the top of picnic tables with amazing accuracy
– 2 year old girls can watch above mentioned in complete fascination
– if my hand is misaligned on the computer keyboard by one letter, my name actually becomes hibu rygs
– King likes my neighbor’s new dog
– My neighbor’s uncle passed away
– My other neighbor had a candle party but didn’t invite me
– My new drinking glasses don’t fit in my cabinet as well as the old ones
– I’m still sick
– Generic mucous medicine works just as well as name brand
– Kids sleep better after they have played outside
– there are still kind people and unselfish kids out there(more later)
– Maddie’s friend’s mom’s name is Kathy
– Dishes don’t wash themselves
– Paper plates are a gift from God
– using half the hot chocolate mix in my mocha coffee recipe tastes better
– I don’t know how to get an envelope to print on my computer
– 2 children can dust off the tv screen with their hands about as fast as it takes me to get out the lambswool duster.
– 7 hours of sleep is better than 5

What new thing(s) have you learned?

5 responses to this post.

  1. lots of activities on the same day… have a nice weekend.

    Reply

  2. Posted by glandheim on April 21, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    It’s really hard to let go of a lost puppy.

    Reply

  3. Did you lose a puppy? That’s so sad!

    Reply

  4. Posted by glandheim on April 23, 2007 at 11:48 am

    No. I meed a lot of dogs on my daily walk around the neighborhood. Last friday a little puppy started folllowing me down the street. I saw a guy in his yard two houses down looking at us, so I assumed it was his puppy, so I turned it around and pointed at the guy and told the puppy to go home.

    The next day the guy stopped me on my walk. He was holding the puppy and asked me if I knew who it belonved to. He said it wasn’t his and it was on his front porch that morning, soaking wet. It had a collar but no tags. I don’t know the breed. It had black and white and gray fuzzy fur, with a big square snout. Totally innocent and trusting.

    We both talked about what to do with the puppy. The shelter was closed, because it was Saturday. He said he’d keep it ’til monday and asked me if I’d like to keep it instead, because his dogs were big and he was afraid they would hurt it if they got to it.

    I really wanted to take that puppy home. It was so happy and friendly. I don’t think it had any idea it was lost and in trouble.

    We have two rescue shelters here besides the public pound, so he’ll be OK. But it’s really hard to let go of a lost puppy.

    That’s the new thing I learned.

    Reply

  5. I learned that . . .

    1. God is good no matter what!
    2. Kids make very good maids (if you teach them!) 🙂
    ***Been teaching my five year old how to help around the house.
    3. Life is better when you don’t listen to the news.
    4. Life is better when you choose to read a book to your child, play a game with them, or just be silly with them instead of watching TV.
    5. My son is a very brave little boy! (He had four shots yesterday at the doctor).
    6. God hears my prayers! (I was reminded of this more than anything).
    7. God is a good God no matter what!

    My manna for today is James 1:2-4 The Message Translation: “Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way. ”

    Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

