Sisters AREN’T doin’ it for themselves

Alright ladies. Let me tell you one of the coolest things in my life. Sister moms. I have a couple of good friends who fortunately live nearby. We have established kind of a co-op. Well, they established it with me.

Greta told me a couple years ago that she really has a heart for moms with small kids. Her girls are in school now and she remembers how difficult it can be to get life done when your children are small. She offered to help with babysitting so I could run an errand or get to a doctor appt. Lisa has also made the same offer however she also has two small children. So she and I have a great system. When we need help, we ask. And when we can’t help, we say no. She has taken our kids when we had an emergency and I’ve taken her kids when she’s been sick and needed some sleep. Neither feel guilty. We both know what a luxury this is and are willing to swap time this way. Heather will rummage through her pantry to see if we need something to get us by or pick up something while she’s running her own errands, or pick up kids from school at the last minute.

Each of these women has done all of these things for me. They’ve all helped with childcare, errands, supplies, food, sounding board. Moms, YOU HAVE GOT TO GET YOU SOME OF THESE. And you know the best way to find one? Be one.

If you’re heading out to the store, call a mom to see if she needs anything where you’re going. Milk, diapers, chocolate, whatever! If you know she is sick, take her kids for a couple hours. Its actually easier to babysit when you have kids that can play with hers. Then you don’t have to entertain anyone! Keep some extra mac & cheese or peanut butter in your cabinet. Make the offer. She may say no, she may say yes, she may just be thankful to hear an adult on the other end of the phone.

Now if you’re afraid of being taken advantage of, let me share with you. I have never been one in the past to make these kinds of offers until someone made the offer to me. At first, I felt obligated to return the favor. But it quickly turned into joy to be able to serve another mom the way they serve me. I know how good it feels to be on the receiving end. Its not always convenient but I don’t like to say no unless I have to say no. There is a scripture that reminds me of this. From Proverbs 3:27-28…”Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to do it. Do not say to your neighbor, ‘Go, and come back, and tomorrow I will give it,’ when you have it with you.”

Basically, if you can help, then help. You don’t have to turn the world upside down but come on-if you’re at Wal-Mart anyway, how hard is it just to pick up one more thing?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! Thanks for sharing with us about your great friends!

    Reply

  2. Posted by glandheim on May 5, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Good advice. I think somewhere along the way we’ve lost a sense of community in the places where we live.

    When I was a little kid, I was raised in the Air Force. There were kids all over the neighborhood, and whichever mom whose house we happened to be at was the one who was watching us. They probably had some kind of agreement, but we didn’t know about it.

    But they did cooperate all the time. Send the kid next door while going down the street to borrow a cup of flour, and have a cup of coffee while they were at it.

    Of course, those were places with 1 car families, and no public transportation, so cooperation was essential. They’d send the bigger kids to the store on a bike to buy things.

    There’s a certain loneliness that comes with independence.

    Reply

  3. This is such a good idea, and such a great message… help each other! Sounds simple, but for some reason people make it out to be harder than it is. You and your co-op ladies have made it work and are a shining example to the rest of us! Bravo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

