Language barrier

My son and I have gotten into battles over what music to play in the truck. He has a list in his head called “my songs” that I am supposed to know. He says, “play the above the Lord song”. I say, “I don’t know that one” and try to think of all the songs that might have that lyric in it. BREAKTHROUGH!!! JD has resorted to singing(via mouth guitar) the intros. So here’s the translation:

way above the Lord = “wait upon the Lord” = Everlasting Love by Lincoln Brewster
where do we go = Sweet Child of Mine as sung by Sheryl Crow
whoa oh! = Living On A Prayer by Bon Jovi
dvv dv dv dv(mouth guitar rhythm) = Joy (kids worship song)
dirty little secret = yeah, you guessed it, Dirty Little Secret by All American Rejects
duh dant dant dant dant dant dant dant(more mouth guitar) = All To You by Lincoln Brewster

5 responses to this post.

  1. Haha! So funny. There are so many songs that I think I know the name to, and then someone will mention a certain song and I’ll be like, “I’ve never heard it.” Turns out, it’s a song I love – just have the name totally wrong!!

    Reply

  2. Lol. My father is tone deaf and when we go to visit he’ll say “Jump an the piano and play … ” Sure Dad, how does it go? You know … dah, dah …. dah .. dah.

    Reply

  3. Very funny. I love your posts about kids.

    Reply

  4. I couldn’t be more proud!!

    Reply

  5. Wow, that’s quite a variety. Livin’ on a Prayer is great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

