Lullaby and goodnight

My kids have been asking me to sing bedtime songs to them again. Here are the favorites:

Maddie: “Are You Lonesome Tonight” Elvis Presley–I used to sing that to her as a newborn when she would cry incessantly at night; the mockingbird song(I don’t know the name or all the words–“hush little baby don’t say a word…”)

JD: “Sweet Baby James” James Taylor–that was his newborn song; The original Winnie-The-Pooh theme song(pre-Disney?); his infant comfort song was “What A Friend We Have In Jesus”–southern gospel style

Annaliese: “You Are My Sunshine”; “Mona Lisa” Nat King Cole–I change the words to Annalisa. The song lyrics are so-so but it has a definite lullaby tune

All the kids love the old standard “The Way You Look Tonight” preferrably by Frank Sinatra.

What do you sing to your kids?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth on May 30, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Thomas loves You are My Sunshine – that is our song. Riley loves “I love you a bushel and a peck”…I don’t know the name, but that is the first line. I sing them their songs whenever we are having a rough day or they are sick. Every night when I put them to bed I sing “Snuggle Puppy” – we made up a tune to go with the story book. You should see me sing it at UNL during a class break. The joys of motherhood and returning to college!!! What we do for our kids.

    Reply

  2. My children are grownups now but I used to sing a Hindi lullaby to them. I started singing this particular lullaby when I was pregnant and sometimes when I am emotional, I sing it to them even now. The only English lullaby I sang was ‘Rock a bye baby on the tree top.’

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dan on May 31, 2007 at 10:38 am

    I used to sing “On the Sunny Side of the Street” by (who else?) Frank Sinatra with my oldest when she was 2 or 3. One day she and her mother were in a grocery store and she heard the melody being played — only it was just the melody – you know elevator music style. When my daughter heard it she said “Mommy – it’s Frank! Mommy – it’s Frank!” My wife is now looking around for someone and can’t find who she is talking about. Then my daughter says – you know Frank, and breaks into: “Grab your coat, and your hat, and leave your worries on the doorstep – life can be so sweet on the Sunny Side of the Street!”

    Reply

  4. pr3rna-I forgot about “Rock a bye Baby”! Whenever the kids want to be babies, they climb in my lap and ask me to rock them. I sing that song very fast and rock them very fast and they giggle and giggle.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Beth on May 31, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    I forgot one of our newer ones – I’ll Stand by You (The Pretenders). I still can’t make it through without getting teary though. Sappy Mommy! My mom and I used to sing “You and Me against the World” right after my parents’ divorce.

    Reply

  6. Joni, your kids like good songs! I want you to come and sing to me at night:)!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lori on June 5, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Joni – over here from Floatingaxhead.com – we have 2 songs, First is “Baby Mine” from Dumbo (and I get teary too!!!) – and then I made up words to the tune of “Edelweiss” – Kennedy, Kennedy, you’re my sweet little baby; Mommy loves, Daddy loves, yes we both love you so! Now we actually have to add the cat and dog’s names after daddy loves…..hopefully we won’t get any more cause they won’t fit! ha ha

    p.s. Thanks for your prayers Joni. From one mom to another….

    Reply

  8. Joni , Joni,
    ok i just found your blog via Mike’s. I love it! I shall now visit it every few days.By the way your voice is wonderful! Ok Gabe’s Dad actually sings better than me but since he lives in Elburn and we live in Aurora
    I’ve always sang to Gabe at night. Infant Gabe loved “She’s not crying anymore” by Billy Ray Cyrus (I was going through a rough time)
    Toddler Gabe loved “The Goodbye Song” from Bear in the Big Blue House. Gabe 3-6 loved “Eternal Flame” by the Bangles. Gabe from 7 on has said “Mom stop singing I’m trying to sleep!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

