Australians are good for weight loss

Oh man, we just went to the Hillsong United (the youth ministry of Hillsong church in Sydney, Australia) concert last night with our friends Mike and Kristen Jones. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!! The place absolutely rocked for over 2 hours plus a couple of preaching & PSA breaks. They played at Lifechangers International Church in Hoffman Estates, IL. The place seats around 3,000 and no one actually used their seat. I’ll leave the music and technical play by play to the experts. You guys can discuss the lights, the room, the mix, the mics, the guitars, the set-up, the transitions, the video production, ya, ya, ya.

I’m going to talk about the sweat. Apparently, if you’re 20-something and attend this type of concert, you need to be well versed in the worship dance. And here it is. Put your hands in the air and jump up and down for 5-8 minutes straight while singing at the top of your lungs. Since I’ve been working out these last several months, I had amazing stamina and had my fat not been too bouncy, could have jumped much longer. My tummy used to be contained. But after 3 C-sections, even my fat fell! After awhile I started laughing at myself and had to stop so as not to be distracting. Anyway, at one point I thought I was going to have to buy a new shirt. I felt like I soaked mine. Fortunately, that’s when the Hillsong United pastor came out to chat and do giveaways so I could rest! And by giveaways I mean sailing things with sharp corners(CDs, stickers, books)into the audience. As a mom and probably one of the oldest people there(I’m not kidding), I was worried about those young people putting an eye out. I figured I burned as many calories as I did in my morning workout.

It was so cool being in that place singing and dancing with 3000 people all(or mostly all)focused on honoring God. After awhile, the band didn’t even have to sing. The crowd took over. I LOVE that. Also exciting was seeing all those younger people impassioned. I’m hoping it wasn’t all about the heat of the moment but that we all took home renewed energy to live out the gospel and point people to Jesus. Sometimes I get frustrated with the preaching because it just all sounds the same to me at these concerts. But last night I got the thought that as one of the “elder” women there, it is my turn to help bring up the next generation in Christ. And to get pumped up watching the young’uns get excited about their life in Christ. So I’m feeling a little younger today even though my sore body says different!! Thanks Aussies for a heart pumpin’ soul fillin’ good time. And for an excuse to stay home from the health club this morning! Perhaps the therapy pool would be a good choice.

2 responses to this post.

  1. http://pressposts.com/Food/Australians-are-good-weight-loss/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “Australians are good for weight loss”

    Reply

  2. Wow! Sounds like a great time!! Glad you could experience it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

