Shhh…be vewy, vewy quiet

elmer_fudd_a_wild_hare.jpgIs it Elmer Fudd? No its Ecclesiastes 5. The other night I had a list of prayer requests that I really wanted to take my time praying over. I retired to my room, closed the door, flopped on the bed and opened my bible to Ecclesiastes 5. I’m a little over a year behind on my daily bible readings, which actually means I’m only a few weeks behind now! I thought if I read some scripture ahead of time, it would prompt me to praise a little before asking for things. ‘Cause that’s how you’re supposed to pray right? And then, I read this…

1 Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong.  2 Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.

Well, I had to rethink my “spend a lot of time in prayer” activity. I sat in awe of that statement “God is in heaven, and you are on earth, so let your words be few.” What if I just named one thing at a time on my list without campaigning to convince God why He should do this thing. What if I just gave him a name and shut up?

So I tried it. Quite interesting. I dozed off. Woke up, said another name, dozed. Finally, I felt like I had forgotten something but as I looked over my list, I had mentioned every name. But I didn’t feel like I had put in enough effort for my friends and myself in need. I just spoke a few words to God and let it go.

What I came out with was peace. No begging, pleading or rambling. No presentation or sales pitch. It was one of those moments where you can completely relax because you know you’re ok–security. I felt confident in trusting God with those requests. Do you sometimes pray and then think, “hope He does it”. I was able to know that my needs were in God’s hands and feel that was the best place for them.

God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.

 

Good tip.

9 responses to this post.

  1. The verse and tip are great but I have to comment about being behind on reading–I love yor rationalizing!!! Love those dated plans to read! 😉

    Reply

  2. Excellent thoughts, Joni!

    I pray that way, and it is indeed “freeing”
    “Lord, I don’t want to tell You how to do your job or anything, but our friends Bill and Sarah are under a lot of pressure right now. You know the details – could You help them?” (or something like that) and then the grin that comes when He answers. His way. His time. His provision of whatever was best. Awe-inspiring to say the least.

    Bet the cat-naps were part of His answer to something you didn’t even mention, hmm? 😀

    Have a great day!
    Phil —

    Reply

  3. came over from flower dust. nice blog and a good word about prayer!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lori on July 13, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Joni, LOVED that. I am on the prayer team (volunteer of course…) at my church and I have actually been feeling pretty burdened over all the requests and pleas that I am supposed to be praying for. I often feel like I need to “sit down” and really pour over their desires, hurts, etc. Wow, let God be God huh….what a concept!!! He ALREADY knows what we need!!! Phil, also thank you for confirming the freedom in this. We usually (ok, I usually) spend so much time TALKING that I don’t have time to listen. What a great post and comments.

    Reply

  5. Hey Joni, Great post! I’d heard that song, but didn’t know it was an actual verse! I’m going to reread it! Thanks for your thoughts!

    Reply

  6. Great post!

    I’ve learned from my pastor to pray like this and have felt a freedom to not have to carry burdens I am not made to carry, but God knows them, and He is big enough.

    Reply

  7. That’s very beautiful! It’s been hard for me to formulate great prayers like I hear from great people, but now I know it’s not necessary. God knows the need and He hears our intercession from our hearts–no lengthy explanation necessary. Sometimes, when I get a prayer request, I’ll just say “Lord, help_____. You know their needs and I pray that You will provide.”

    Reply

  8. […] Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong.  Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few. — Ecclesiastes 5:1-3 […]

    Reply

  9. […] Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong. Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few. — Ecclesiastes 5:1-3 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

