What in the world?

Can someone please tell me what this thing is on the kiddie pool?

img_1408.jpg

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth on July 30, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    It is called a leaf insect (Phyllium bioculatum).

    Reply

  2. That’s actually a katydid. Order Orthoptera. Not sure which genus and species. Here’s a good link: http://www.ivyhall.district96.k12.il.us/4th/kkhp/1insects/katydid.html

    Leaf insects can be seen here:
    http://www.bugsincyberspace.com/phyllium_bioculatum.html

    A caption idea: “Just sittin on the dock of the bay…”

    Reply

  3. That thing rocks!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Joni on July 30, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    We were fortunate to prevent JD from “touching” it with one of his sandbox tools. I don’t think he wanted to harm the thing but he just can’t help himself.

    Reply

  5. He’s a boy. He’s inquisitive…

    Reply

  6. Ohhhhh we ended up with 2 of those suckers in the house the other day. I was totally clueless as to what it was, Hailey my daughter was screaming, and those things are so loud!!!

    Reply

  7. Ya know, ANTS freak me out! THAT thing would have sent me in fetal position rocking back and forth in the nearest corner!

    Reply

  8. I think they’re kinda cute! I like bugs, though.

    Reply

  9. Katydids are very cool, as far as bugs go. I have boys, so bugs do rank in the cool list around here. I’m catching up on blog entries and I’ve missed you,too. Thanks for checking on me. I gave you credit for that in a recent post. All is fine here – busy, but good. Just been pouring myself into family 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by madaline on August 9, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    that’s a confused leaf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

