A sigh of relief?

Inspired by Rindy’s Jump In! post at Experiencing the Journey… 

A couple weeks ago, I took the kids to the county fair. The local suspects were there, cows, sheep, pigs, chickens, corn dogs. I decided to splurge and get a bunch of ride tickets. They’re little kids. How many kiddie rides could there be? About a million.

We start on the safe ones–little versions of Mack trucks riding around a track. Move on to the Carousel where the horses go up and down and round and round–always focus on a fixed point on the horizon to avoid nausea. Then to this dragon ride that looked like it went back and forth on a track like a pendulum. At least that’s what I thought. Apparently, that’s just the end of it. Now all my kids are over 36″ tall so they all qualify to go. And happily so. Until it starts and I realize its a mini roller coaster.

I’ve just sent my 3 & 4 yr old on a seat belt only roller coaster ride at a fair. It comes apart and gets put back together every weekend. How stable can that be? At this point Annaliese is screaming bloody murder because she is on the inside of the turns and JD is smooshing her. I’m sure she’s going to fall out but I smile and wave so as not to scare her. Within seconds, the ride operator compassionately stops the ride to let off the screaming masses–about 3/4 of the ride–and then continue on with the old and the brave.

The old and brave end up being my daughter Maddie and another girl who have been screaming “woo hoooooooo” with their arms up in the air the whole time. Maddie is ecstatic and wants more. OK, so my reason for relief is not that the little ones got off the ride, but that Maddie stayed on. She is typically characterized by timidity in a new situation or with something she doesn’t understand. However, carnival rides seem to be the exception. She lights up around them.

I am relieved that somewhere in her 6 yr old being, there is a place where she is willing to cut loose and risk. To look forward to experiencing the thrill of faux-danger, trusting that she’ll be ok in the end.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like our fair experience! What beckons us there each year???!!! It’s not the food! It’s not the bargain! It’s not the feeling that it’s even a “family friendly” environment…it’s just a weird little phenomena that I cannot explain and will probably attend each year for the rest of my life – yikes!

    Reply

  2. Ummm, we have no idea how that happened – but that is actually my comment above but for some reason my husbands website popped up… but he feels the same as I do =)

    Might as well check out his sight I guess…

    Reply

  3. I have always been terrified of carnival rides! But you can’t go to a fair without going on them… they’re such an important part of childhood summers!

    Reply

  4. Funny you should bring up rides…am attending Kingdom Bound, a Christian music festival, the next 3 days and it takes place at a nearby amusement park. I have always looked at the ‘Skycoaster’ and said I would love to go on it (it’s one of those harnessed in, lifted WAY high up then free fall swing over the lake and let go rides–the ones that cost extra because only the crazy ones do it!) Ya–that one–I asked a friend to go on Wed and she immediately said she wanted to go on the Skycoaster! It’s a situation where I just HAVE to do it (she of course is 20 something!!)….yes, I will be blogging about this one! 😉

    Thanks for the link!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

