Hangin’ at the club

Health club that is. I’ve been getting back into a health club routine which my body sorely needs. After my workout today(upper body strength training), I headed to the whirlpool. I’m self conscious anyway getting into a bathing suit so when I arrived at the pool and found 5 men in it already, I must have looked like a deer in headlights. Thinking it might be a therapy session(the health club is affiliated with a hospital and has a physical therapy unit on site), I ask if I can join them or was it a private party. “Come on in! Just find a spot where we’re not and its all yours,” they chime in together.

I wondered why the 3 older men (70s) were lined up on one side facing the swimming pool. I turn and I see it…water aerobics and strength training class.  There must have been 30 women in that pool (average age 50s/60s) plus the instructor. There was one man in the class who was obviously more brave than the 3 gentlemen in the whirlpool. Well these older men were in prime critique position. “Boy that instructor’s loud.” “Yeah, you can hardly hear the instructor of the other class. She’s nice and quiet.”  It reminded me of the two men in the balcony on The Muppet Show.   1_statler_waldorf.jpg

I laughed at the fact that no matter what age, men still like to sit back and look at women. I wonder if any of them approached the ladies at the juice bar later. They could have already been spouses or “gentleman friends” but it was still enjoyable for me watching the men watch the women. Which breaks the cardinal rule of the health club–no people watching. But really, what were they to do–the ladies were right there in public in their bathing suits. Its not like they could look away!

8 responses to this post.

  1. LOL!!! That is so hilarious!!! Thanks for the laugh…I needed it!

    And thanks for your kind words regarding Copper. It really meant a lot to me. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’m cracking up! I love old people. I really do. I grew up around old people and boys. I just feel good around them–their wisdom and their wit–the old people that is, not the boys 🙂

    Reply

  3. A few months ago my 83yo grandmother calls me from her Florida nest in the senior park and starts ranting about some beautfully bald man with a tan….biking around in Speedos. Uggggg (Plugging my ears and screaming LA-LA-LA-LA, I cant hear you!) Just gross. She said when this man rides around ALL the ladies just happen to venture outside and do yardwork…haha

    Women do the same thing. =)

    Reply

  4. I’ve been in those water aerobics classes lately! I LOVE THEM! That’s funny to hear that the men in the whirlpool are checking everything out! Yikes!

    Reply

  5. I love it! I have also always gotten a kick out of the two old commentators on The Muppets. What a perfect comparison, haha.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Chris on August 31, 2007 at 11:02 am

    Hey now, I resemble those men…. I’m not sure if I should be offended or not… But this post does create a new idea…. I’ve not attempted that age group as of yet… Maybe if I focus on the retired to almost retired age group, I might be able to land a few dates! Hmmmm something new to ponder! Thanks!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Joni on August 31, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    Chris, you WILL NOT! I will not have my brother-in-law be a gigolo. Although it is a different sort of career. 🙂 Ick.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Marisa on September 2, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Joni as usual, you crack me up! I loved those old guys on the Muppets. And speaking of Muppets, it reminds me of how we used to taunt Christina by immitating the Swedish chef. “…um, bork, bork, bork!” I don’t know how to type the rest of what they said. 🙂 We are due for a dinner date again soon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

