Mercy For Your Soul

My Mother’s Heart small group is reading through the book Tender Mercy for a Mother’s Soul by Angela Thomas Guffey. The following caught my attention.

On p.16, feeling spiritually barren(emphasis mine)…

“Mothering is about giving. We give at every level of emotional, mental, and physical energy. We give until there is nothing left. Learning to give without hesitation has transformed my life: it has redirected my selfish thoughts and made me more other-centered. It has realigned my priorities and my motives. But to give and give without being replenished is to eventually become barren and dry…If we call on the Lord for anything, we must pray Psalm 23 for ourselves and ask the Lord to come and restore our souls. The soul of a woman, and especially of a mother, must be cared for and attended to…We cannot possibly love as we ought from the dryness of a barren desert.”

So she seems to suggest that giving until you’re spent is not the problematic issue. It is the process of replenishment and attention to soul care that trip us up. What do you think?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth on September 24, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    I think as Mothers, especially those of us that are stay at home Moms we tend to just give and give and not get replenished. Or if we do try to replenish and take some Me time, we feel guilty. I think I need to learn to stand up and say NO to the kids and hubby and do the things that make ME replenished.

    I would love to hear what other Moms do to get that ME Time….

    Reply

  2. I definitely agree. I take the ME time now and it’s the best. It shifts the kids thinking also from them being the most important, to realizing that mom counts too. That was probably the biggest mistake I made many years ago when I became a single mom–they became my entire focus…that’s not the best thing 😉

    To get the ME time—TAKE IT!! No one will give it to you…you have to arrange it, schedule it, plan it…or it will never happen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

