The Beauty of a Closed Door

Ah the beauty of a closed door. Just me in my room…any room…with the door closed where none shall pass without approval. Unless of course you have small children unclear on the concept of knocking and waiting for an invitation. Yes for those of us with little ones(who am I kidding—anyone in the house…especially if they saw you go in), a closed door appears to be a giant invitation to blast in the room demanding an answer to the question that has baffled the ages…“what are you doing?” Now on a special occasion I may even be allowed the decadent indulgence of a closed and (gasp!) locked door. At which point all communications are carried out verbally through the closed door, you know, before I get too involved in whatever I plan on doing.

Sometimes I like to pray behind a closed door. Sometimes I like to study my bible or read a book. Sometimes I like to take a semi-relaxing bath behind a closed door. But my very favorite thing to do behind a closed door is absolutely nothing. My husband is not a fan of solitude and would rather spend as much time as possible in the company of friends. I, however, relish the times when I get to sit behind a closed door and just, well, sit behind a closed door. Thinking. Enjoying the quiet. Or enjoying the muffled noise beyond the door that I don’t have to address. Oh how I love the beauty of a closed door.

Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong. Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few. — Ecclesiastes 5:1-3

6 responses to this post.

  1. Nice post! I think I spent twenty years in the bathroom while my kids were growing up. They think I have digestive problems.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dan on October 23, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I’m with you. I like quiet. I like closed doors. Perhaps that is why I have been enjoying the steam room at the health club lately. Just me, a closed door, the comforting hisssssss of steam heating up the room, and a lot of sweat!!!

    Reply

  3. I wish so desperately I could shut my door more often. We don’t have a heat pump. So there is a heating unit in our living room that heats up our small 1,000 sq. foot home pretty well. But if you close your door for too long – it gets arctic cold in there. And also, much like you, a closed door clearly means, “No,no,no, think nothing of the barrier between you and I…come right on in!” Why bother…

    Reply

  4. I often go into my room, shut my door and read/relax/take a nap….until one of my guys bangs on the door, as he is opening it, calling “Mom” to ask for 100 things…oh, some things will never change 😉

    Reply

  5. Oh…a closed door? You actually have doors in your house? I’m sure mine has been taken down…the rooms just always seem to be open lol I know what you mean.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lori on October 30, 2007 at 7:34 am

    Joni, that is one of my favorite verses. I love that God has to remind us that HE is in charge, and we are simply “here” and we need to just let him be HIM!!! I love it!!! I don’t often get to sit behind closed doors for very long either….so I totally get you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

