Wannabe

We had a great mom’s group this last week including some good prayer time together. One of the things we prayed for was to be more like Jesus every day. Then I got to thinking…

What does that mean? My first thought was that I want to be more kind, more gentle, and never make mistakes. Then my mind got out of status quo mode and engaged.

If I want to be more like Jesus, I’m going to have to think of others first, become completely dependent on God the Father(as Jesus was on earth), be willing to sacrifice everything that is rightfully mine for the benefit of another, not get into petty arguments because I am insecure but live as if I have nothing to prove. I am going to have to show mercy to those who have wronged me. I am going to have to forgive those who may never ask for it or even recognize they did anything against me. I am going to have to invest my time and energy into people. I am going to have to challenge convention, be moved into action by compassion, be willing to enter another’s culture, plight and misery and be genuinely interested. I will have to live my life with passion and love.  

Geez. What were we thinking? This prayer stuff is dangerous.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Amen. good thoughts.

    Reply

  2. Whoa! That is some deep reflection and truth. Everyone should read this! I love it!

    Reply

  3. Those thoughts are challenging. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

