Being known.

I work in a bank. There are some regular customers that you see and get to know. There are some regular customers that you see and recognize but because of the transaction, you really need to get an ID from them. The majority of people are very pleasant when you greet them. Yet some will totally shut down when you ask for the ID. One man told me he’d been banking there for 40 years and was very upset. Well, I’ve only been there for 10 weeks so I didn’t recognize him. One woman who smiled and made conversation as she gave me her papers did a 180 and gave me the silent treatment–not even eye contact–after I asked for an ID. Is being known that much a fundamental issue of the soul? What about being misunderstood? Some think we ask for ID because we are suspicious of their intentions. Most of the time though people are insulted because they are not recognized.

5 responses to this post.

  1. That’s so frustrating. People need to get over themselves, you’re just doing your job!!

    Reply

  2. I’m trying to recall how I feel when I’m asked to show ID….I guess it feels like you’re not trusted. That doesn’t make it right or wrong on either side. Like the commenter above said…you’re just doing your job. And for the customer, it’s an initial “flesh” response to a feeling of inferiority or possibly embarrassment. People are strange!

    Reply

  3. Ok let me just bsay it like this…..

    If my local bank customer service did NOT id me….I would have there job! I dont care if they see me everyday for the last 10 years at 9:05am exactly. ID ME!!!! We’re talking money here and its hard earned and not something I want someone else getting ahold of.

    Ugggg, people! What are they thinking???

    It’s for their protection and yet they are mad. WOW!

    Reply

  4. I have no problem with showing an ID. For one, I know it’s a policy–and a good one. And, I’m horribly bad at remembering people’s names anyway. Faces I can recognize fairly well, but names….just can’t get em unless I repeat them over and over.

    I think a lot of older people are more offended than younger generations. They’ve not been affected or aware of ID theft and all the high-tech crime that can happen when people don’t double check ID’s and what-not. I wouldn’t let it bother you. Just tell them it’s the bank’s policy and you’re doing it for their protection.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lori on November 12, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Once you’ve had your id stolen and money stolen from either a bank account or a credit card…..you will get mad if someone does NOT ask for an id. I alway thank those who ask, and actually LOOK at it…..i agree with theepiphany – get over yourselves. There are a lot worse things that could happen to you during your day than being asked for an id!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

