Friday, Black Friday

To bed by 1 a.m., up at 4 a.m., off to get coffee by 4:45 a.m., reached my 1st store by 5:05 a.m. I’m not a wait in line kind of gal. I’d prefer to let the maniacs run through the store without me. I was not in a position to hit the outlet mall at midnight and 4 a.m. seems to be the earliest my body will awake without a nursing infant present.

In general it was uneventful. No big wow moments. I realized that one of the items I was shopping for was poorly made or more accurately, just cheap. I ended up putting it back. The 1st store was amazingly disorganized. I was looking for a few DVDs and you would think they would be in the DVD/electronics area. No, they were near jewelry in the aisle. And if you asked an employee, they had little idea what you were looking for or where it could be found. There were a few wise employees walking around with the store ads in hand.

Here are a few hints I can propose to the retailers for next year…

When you hire seasonal help, make sure they are trained by Thanksgiving eve. At the very least, they should have at least been in your store before.

Cashiers should know who their supervisors are.

Try to make sure the computer system is equipped to ring up the sale prices. I had to return to the store for 2 items that were overcharged.

For the most part, the stores did a great job. Attitudes were good; people seemed willing to help and there were plenty of employees around. I spotted a gaggle of 6 standing together at the toy dept. in Wal-Mart. Target had an awesome communication system between associates around the store and the toy dept. Kohl’s checkout lines snaked toward the back of the store but I didn’t have to wait longer than 10 minutes. They moved people through fast.

A couple of things I did to make it a smooth morning. Prayed ahead of time for financial and attitude protection. Scouted the ads and made lists of which stores had what stuff. Dressed lightly because the stores are sweat boxes. No purse–pockets only. No wallet, just a credit card and ID in a zipped pocket. Cash and phone optional.  

Turned out to be a pretty good morning. How did you do?

4 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t go out. No Moola. But this town was hopping with overnight shoppers. Tons of people camping out the night before. it was 24 degrees out folks – that’s crazy! Glad you did well! Prayed up before you left…what a novel idea 🙂

    Reply

  2. Well I dont really do the black friday thing anymore. Ever since that one year I went in for one thing and came out a whole paycheck less…well, I just thought it was no longer a good idea for your typical “lack of control” Black Friday shopper.

    Although my family and I do go shopping at the same store….every year….and for what i am not sure, but we do it and we wait till about 2pm.

    It went well. I didnt spend a dime.

    Glad to hear you suited up with your “Armor” beforehand. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by lilredhorse33 on November 27, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    hey! its lizzie btw. i need your email! i have to send you the song! otherwise if you have itunes or whatever it is called “rebirthing” by skillet. loooove it!

    Reply

  4. I’m not one of you crazy black Friday shoppers. I prefer to wait for “gray” Saturday 🙂 I’m just not a big shopper. If I could get everything online, I totally would. Last year and the year before that, I practically did. This year, a big chunk has been gotten online.

    Online shopping rocks. I can do it in my PJ’s anytime of day, and not have to drag kids anywhere and I save gas.

    Glad you survived though and didn’t get trampled. Good idea praying about it. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

