Christmas gluttony

Had a great Christmas. Kids were very grateful and managed to remember “Christmas is about giving not getting(JD)” and “Its Jesus’ birthday. Yaaaaaaay!!!!” Annaliese(3 1/2) still gets excited over receiving a box until we tell her to open it for the present. Then she explodes. Grandparents were VERY generous. Apparently, Doug hadn’t remembered the “lets not get presents for each other” plan we’ve enlisted the last 2 years because of the townhouse and splurged on an iPod Nano for me. To his credit and with amazing restraint, he stayed with the smaller model. He probably injured himself in the process. He had it shipped to his dad’s house as a surprise. Which is pretty cool but then I felt bad because I didn’t “splurge” on the new Eagle’s CD I thought he might like but decided against because we weren’t buying presents for each other.

Annaliese threw up into a gift bag containing mint patties on our way to church Sunday morning. So yeah, no more mint patties. Then I got sick Christmas night. Then Maddie got sick when we got home. So far with some disinfecting and new toothbrushes, we’ll keep it away from the boys and the cat.

Pains and vomit aside, we had a great Christmas and will try not to heave from the over abundance of toys and gifts received. The kids have agreed to give away some of their “old” toys to make room for the new. Who knows? We might even convince them to share some of their new things with friends. I’ll let you know how that goes.

img_1541.jpg  Winter in West Central Illinois     img_1544.jpgMom’s new toy  tool
img_1552.jpg
  gift carnage
3 responses to this post.

  1. I got a kick out of your post as my hubby and I have gone through this for several years. We think we won’t get each other any gifts than it goes to $25 limit and we never do it. I don’t know why we try. It’s so fun to give to others!!
    I think all kids get on overload and end up throwing up at some point. It’s a lot to take in.
    Blessings,
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha(S)

    Reply

  2. You got sick too? I got sick on Christmas day and am still trying to recover! Hope you’re feeling much better by now!

    I like your new “tool” 😀

    Reply

  3. I love the new “tool” !!!!! My mom and her husband bought me one last year and I was SOOOOOOO excited! I love it and I use it all of the time…..while cleaning the house and singing at the top of my lungs like some kind of weird mom-rockstar! WOO HOO for new tools! haha

    Glad you and the fam enjoyed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

