In Need Of Absolution

Oh man. I was just throwing out sorting through Maddie’s school papers and came across this note: “please bring in a wrapped gift around $5.00 for the Christmas party”. I never saw the note. If Doug told me about it, I don’t remember it. I was confused when Maddie came home on the last day of school before break with a present from one of her classmates. I couldn’t get it out of her whether everyone got a present or her friend just decided to get her one. I’m sure the room moms brought extras because of people like me.

I can usually blow this sort of thing off. We dropped the ball, there’s nothing we can do about it now, everyone’s fine. But this time I just can’t bear being the mom who didn’t bring in a present.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I confess that I saw the note. I also confess that I don’t remember whether I told you about it or not.

    “I have no recollection Senator. That’s the phrase you’ll need to learn Jack……”

    Reply

  2. Don’t beat yourself up. The teachers and other parents probably had extras. They understand that people forget these things sometimes. I’ve done it before with preschool stuff and Zoe’s library storytime group. As a busy mom, you’re just going to forget stuff from time to time.

    Reply

  3. Haha, if I were you I would get defensive and think “hmmm, that information is a little risky to send home on a note – someone should have called me about it…” and that would help me feel better. I’m sure it went over fine though 🙂

    Reply

  4. It is the intention that counts Joni 🙂

    Reply

  5. I did the same thing with my licence plate registration. My sticker still says Nov 07. Ooops. At least you won’t get arrested.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

