Workplace etiquette

Is it ok to do the crossword puzzle in the lunchroom copy of the newspaper?

Is it ok to take home the lunchroom copy of the newspaper at the end of the day or are you supposed to let it be thrown out?

How long do you have to wait to throw out the community treats that were brought in? Til they’re all gone or til the doughnut that no one likes sits for 2 days just to be sure no one wants it?

If carrying on a conversation in the bathroom when the two of you are washing your hands, do you talk to the reflection of the other person in the mirror or should you look right at them? If they are talking to your reflection, are you obligated to talk to theirs?

Is it wrong to sing along with the piped in music just because you know it and not because you like it?

9 responses to this post.

  1. Yes. It shows everyone else how smart you are.

    Yes. If it gets thrown away anyway, plus we don’t subscribe, and it’s grilling season soon.

    Blasphemy. Donuts should never go uneaten, but then I’m fat, so you may not want to listen to me.

    Talk to the reflection. Your neck hurts, and you might hurt it again.

    Go ahead and sing, maybe you’ll get a gig out of it. We could use the money.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dan on February 18, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    1. Yes – I will work on whatever crossword or Sudoku, I mean SoduKo, I mean SoDoKu, whatever puzzel I find. It comes under the two most basic rules of a democratic society: A- finders keepers and B – 1st come – 1st served.

    2. Again – refer to rule 1A above.

    3. You mean someone actually cleans the workroom? I just thought the uneaten donuts and boxes just sort of disappeared. Or someone’s mom came in and cleaned it all up.

    4. Talk to the reflection. Same rule applies when you are standing at the urinal – look straight ahead, don’t turn your head, and don’t make eye contact. Oh – I guess you don’t have that issue.

    5. No opinion on the last one. I suppose I wouldn’t be bothered by it if the person could actually sing. I would be annoyed if the person was really bad and singing along.

    Reply

  3. Are you serious??? Of course it’s ok to sing a long!!! I do all the time. The kids just love it when a good old Paula Abdul song comes on in the grocery store and momma gets her groove on!

    Reply

  4. Posted by gretch-a-sketch on February 19, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I think I would prefer to talk to the reflection myself. Saves me a few extra muscles in turning my head. I am always for the easier route! 😉

    Reply

  5. Tam, Tam, Tam, Tam, Tam……..

    “good, old Paula Abdul song”……..

    you’re half right.

    Reply

  6. HAHAHA!!!! Hey, that was back when we had little more to choose from! Some of us sappy 80’s chicks loved her 😀

    We know better now. I am healed 😉

    Reply

  7. Posted by Joni on February 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    My kids just tell me to stop singing because it gives them a headache. Not kidding.

    Reply

  8. and what do you do to get the stupid Abba song out of your head once the Muzak system has put it there? (and no, humming the theme to “Hawaii 5-0” isn’t helping?)

    Reply

  9. Then obviously Tom, you’re not doing it right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

