Did It Anyway

The other day, I just didn’t feel like doing any of the things that needed to get done. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, I didn’t have the luxury of not getting those things done. Amazingly enough, that was  enough motivation for me to actually complete most of my list.

Doug and I have had this financial mess swirling around us. We’ve had a couple scares with my health–neck and back problems, a mysterious “mass” found on an xray which turned out to be a harmless uterine fibroid, a call back for more mammography films which yielded nothing. We lost Doug’s Grandma Tillie in early February. And yet through all of this, it still seems as though we have been touched merely by peripheral winds while our friends are in the middle of the twister.

We have 3 friends dealing with cancer. One was just given good news of no more cancer after a year of chemo and radiation and all the fun that comes with it. One was just diagnosed and still awaits prognosis. And one may not see summer arrive this year. Another friend’s father was diagnosed with a tenuous cardiac problem while being treated for pneumonia. A man I know committed suicide and now I only get to see his wife.

I don’t know why, but we have been sheltered. The best way to describe it is like we’re safe in a bunker watching our friends get picked off one by one and there’s nothing we can do about it. So this is much of the reason for my “don’t feel like it”s lately. My heart is heavy for my friends. The biggest problem Doug and I have is the least eternal. Money. There is a lot of soul business going on. I just hope that Doug and I can get over ourselves enough to hold up our friends. I think we can (cliche alert) with God’s help. No, you know its not with God’s help. Its because of God that we can. Help shmelp. He’s the one who does it all anyway. So I just hope Doug and I can get out of the way and follow God.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dan on March 7, 2008 at 9:28 am

    If I praise God in the good times, I will praise Him as I go through trials. I thank God for these trials, as it reveals my true character.

    These last few weeks have allowed me the chance to see if I am truly loving, kind, patient, peaceful, and joyful. Or if I am those things only because life is good right now.

    I have often felt as you do right now – that my family was “protected” as so many people around me were going through the “twister.”

    By the way – I think you did get over yourself (as you put it) quite nicely — everyone loved the ribs. I walked into J & D’s kitchen and saw a plateful of them and said “Joni brought ribs!!” I know those ribs anywhere!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Denise on March 7, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    We did love the ribs, Joni! THANK YOU!!! As crazy as life has been, it means so much that you took time to send some love and joy our way.

    The money worries are truly a burden, but while in the “twister” that somehow falls away and the love of friends and family leaves a mark that no amount of money could ever buy.

    You are very rich, Joni… richer than you know.

    Reply

  3. Agreed.

    Reply

  4. Bless your hearts! That’s exactly what we’ve been dealing with too. We’ve had our small share of our own battles and illnesses, but seeing Bryan’s brother and wife lose their baby, seeing our friends’ homes destroyed by tornadoes…it’s all been almost too much to bear. It’s been a hard winter for sure.

    Reply

  5. I will keep you lifted up in prayer. It is tough going through trials, but Jesus said in John 16:33 Amplified Bible, “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.]”

    Stay plugged in (abide in) the vine through your personal prayer time, personal Bible study time, praise and worship, and by being involved in the AWESOME body of believers that God has connected you with at The Orchard.

    Reply

  6. Posted by joni on March 10, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Thanks Stephanie. That’s a great reminder and just what I needed to hear this minute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

