Clueless

Ok, have we been teaching our kids not to leave things in the driveway? Yes. Have we been teaching our kids not to pull the “landscaping” lava rocks out of the beds? Yes.

Pulling in the driveway after work last night, I hit the brakes and swerve to miss a superstructure built out of bricks, rocks, and several long pieces of wood. In the middle of the driveway. Irritated, I walk into the house to thunderous shouts of “Mommy’s home!!!! Yaaaaaay!!!!” And two girls who just about plow me over with hugs. So I start in on Doug with “Did you see what they did in the driveway? I just about ran right into it!” when JD explains, “did you see those long pieces of wood? That’s the drawbridge.” And just as I start to complain that we don’t need all that junk in the driveway, the kids proudly shout out: “Yeah, Mom. We made you a castle!!!!!”

Ugh. I’m so stupid.

“A castle just for me?!!” says mom. “That’s awesome, thanks!” A narrow miss for the therapy fund. No contributions yesterday.

**Update: JD and Annaliese have now added to it with a toddler sled, some logs and a small can of touch up paint I made them return to the garage. That was close.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I had meant to let you know to be careful driving into the driveway, that the kids had built you something.

    You handled it great!!

    Now, if you can have them clean up that mess before I get home that would be great. ;^)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joni on March 14, 2008 at 9:55 am

    JD started to dismantle it but I told him to wait until Dad got home. He said ok.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dan on March 14, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Remember the story in “Growing Kids God’s Way” about the kid who was so excited she found some huge pine cones and put them on the table to show mom and dad? When the parents came in they immediately got mad because the dirty, sticky pine cones were messing up the dining room table.

    Our kids have such innocent motives. I need to stop and listen more before just blow up and tell everyone what needs to be cleaned, straightened, and organized!

    Reply

  4. You are better than me! I can never keep my mouth closed long enough and usually blow it on good stuff like this. Hurray for you!

    Reply

  5. Oh sweet! That is so adorable of them! Kids normally do mean well 🙂 – well okay, mostly – sometimes. You know what I mean!

    Reply

  6. This is classic Joni! Love the way you tell stories! As soon as Brent is done watching “Dexter” (his new favorite show) I’m having him read this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

