What if?

This post falls into the category of “odd things that come into Joni’s mind”. One of my customers today looked exactly like my mom if she was still alive at the age of 74. My mom passed away in 1987 at the age of 53 from complications of Diabetes. This customer had a similar hairstyle, mannerisms and dress code. The difference (aside from the obvious that one is alive and one is not!) was the attitude. Since mom was so often sick, she was very often so tired and depressed while my customer was smiling and joking around. I sometimes wonder how mom would have aged were she well.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t think this is an “odd thing” at all. Maybe because I have thought similar things. 😉

    I miss my grandparents terribly! Whenever I see anyone who remotely resembles them I will wonder the same things…

    Reply

  2. Your mom was soo young hey. That’s so sad. I think it is very normal to wonder what someone would be like if they were still alive.
    HUGS to you.

    Reply

  3. I often wonder what my sister would have been like…she died in 1988 at the age of 31. This week would have been her 51st birthday.

    Reply

  4. I wonder that too. My mom was 56 when she died of lung cancer. I wonder how things would have been different if she had never smoked that first cigarette. I wonder how she would have liked my second and third child and how much she would have spoiled them! I wonder if Megan (my oldest) remembers her just a wee bit somewhere in the back of her mind (she was almost 2 when Granny died). I often find myself wanting to grab up the phone to call her and ask her advice about things, or just to chat.

    Then I have to remind myself that she’s in paradise, and she’ll be there waiting when I arrive. That makes me smile.

    Reply

  5. Your mom died so young. That must have been hard. I would try to strike up a conversation with that lady. It would be cool for you to get to know this lady!

    Reply

  6. My dad died when he was 47. That was 15 years ago, and every once in a while I see somebody that reminds me of him. I often wonder what he would be like if he were still alive. I think what you experienced in a natural feeling. I enjoyed the time that I did have with my dad, I can’t wait to see him again. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Courage and faith are not four letter words. Some folks don’t seem to get old they just get sweeter. My mama is 93 is is always happy. She writes poetry, sings and plays the piano and has a rich sense of humor. My sister the snapping turtle is in a love hate relationship with my mother and it is killing her.
    God bless you, Chaz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

