RagamuffinTop Challenge #11

7/28: 198.4
8/2: 197 (196.8 without holding a camera)
Sorry, couldn’t upload the picture. Using a backup computer til ours comes home from rehab Monday. If I think of it, I’ll add it then.

4 swimming lessons in the water with kids
Irritable bowel syndrome
Gave up on the food sort of.

Read in “Big Girls Don’t Whine” by Jan Silvious that big girls realize they cannot change themselves. They recognize the need for change and ask God to take over. Um, surrendering I think they call it. I just know something’s gotta change. My children are very interested in food and exercise. We talk about eating healthy foods, portion size, not eating just because its there, getting exercise every day, balancing treats within the diet yet mom and dad are out of control.

I grew up with parents that smoked and told me how bad it was so I should never do it. Yeah. I started smoking in 1981 at the age of 14, and quit in 1995. I understand the struggle my parents went through, especially my mom who regretted the day she started smoking and how it influenced us. Before she died, she apologized to us kids for “taking up the habit”. I don’t want my kids to look like me, feel like me, be bound or obsessed this way. So I just asked God to intervene in a big way. Not to help me but to take over the struggle. I have no idea how that plays out or what my part needs to be but I suppose he’ll clue me in as we go. Seems to be his m.o. Thanks for the 1.4.

I’d link you all to the other muffinTop challengers but I haven’t seen a Los post on it yet. Another add-in later I suppose.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh Joni! How exciting!!!

    I know all about the control issues. I am a big fat “control” cheater with my pills. I just have no control and need to give this over to God vs. my miracle pill =)

    Reply

  2. Hey! Great job! Just remember it’s not the pace that is important it’s the progress, it’s not about the short term results it’s about the lifestyle changes! Keep it going and over the long term you’ll see a difference!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

