The morning after

Well here I am, coming up out of the water yesterday at my baptism. OK, my and 130+ others’ baptisms! What a great day. Kids had a ball on the huge inflatable slide, crawl-thru caterpillar, face painting and balloon creations. 5Bs BBQ laid out an awesome spread of BBQ chicken and pork chops. Ashton Gap provided some bluegrass for the day. The fabulous smile in the picture is that of Kathryn Egly, the Orchard‘s Children’s Ministry director accompanied by Ted Egly, one of our awesome teaching pastors. Just a very cool couple to get baptized by. Kathryn encouraged me when we first joined the Orchard to join Orchard Kids, leading worship for the little ones which eventually turned into my leading the K-5th grade kids in worship once a month.

I don’t know if I have processed it all in my head yet but my first reaction was, “Finally!” I’ve done what I wanted to do for years but didn’t think I was allowed or supposed to. Finally, I can bury the past and move forward. Finally, I can cheer on others as they are baptized without a twinge of “I wish I could…”

It was very cool to hear my kids cheer my name from across the pool and each one give me a huge hug. Some other kid notes…5 minutes before the baptism started, I was informed that JD had been lost for about 30 mins. Turns out he couldn’t find me(I went ahead with the other baptizees), couldn’t find Dad and ended up getting caught up in the crowd walking over to the water park. Thank you to Miss Michelle, one of his church teachers who knew him and kept an eye out until Dad arrived. Maddie told me she had a very good poop in the pool bathroom(after the baptism). And I got a big hug from Annaliese to which she exclaimed, “Mom you’re making me wet!” Special thanks to our friend Mike for taking the pictures while Doug & I were in the pool. I’m sure there will be a video up soon. Check in at the Orchard for that. All in all, not a bad day for a baptism.

10 responses to this post.

  1. goosebumps from head to toe!!!

    what an incredibly awesome moment joni!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Frankie on August 11, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    congrats! I’m really happy for you!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Beth on August 11, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    You were in my thoughts and prayers all day yesterday. I am glad your experience was so fulfilling…and that Doug was there to share it with you. And nothing like kids to bring you back to reality after a moving spiritual experience. haha

    Reply

  4. Posted by Beth on August 11, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    At least Maddie’s poopy was in the pool bathroom! I gasped when I first read it since “bathroom” is on the next line of your sentence! hahaha

    Reply

  5. Yay!! Very exciting! Thanks for letting us join in through your account of the event 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Joni on August 11, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    We’ve all(me and the kids)have had colds coming upon us. And BLAM they hit this morning. Especially mine. JD & Annaliese feel the worst of it. Maddie is hard to read. I feel awful today. Beth got it right on–back to reality. Good thing I have a doctor appt. tomorrow just for my regular depression and pain follow up. OK this turned into a post. I’ll write more later.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lori Bell on August 12, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Congratulations SISTER!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Dolores on August 12, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Way to go Joni! I watched you as you were baptized and knew that you had struggled with the decision. Wow, we are so proud of you for following what the Bible tells us to do! What a great example you have set for others that are struggling with the same thing!

    May God use this experience in your life to bring you closer to Him!

    Reply

  9. Oh Joni this is awesome!!! I am so excited for you! Great pics! I finally have a face to the name. lol

    Reply

  10. Congratulations on your baptism

    Reply

Leave a Reply

