Health and Welfare

I’m adding this as a ragamuffinTop challenge post. Weight 8/16: 198.6;  8/30: 198.8

I apologize if you got here through the wrong tag or search. Its not about politics. Its all about ME!!!

From my previous post on “Fat, Depression and Hormones“, you may have deduced I would have jumped off a bridge by now. Not so. I got my blood work back, met with a personal trainer and talked with a psychiatrist.

My bad cholesterol is down 18 pts to 102. I believe 100 is normalish? Yay fish oil supplements. My A1c test which measures blood glucose over about 3 months was 5.8% which is normal and considered controlled. My fasting glucose was 10 pts above normal so if that continues, they may medicate me. All other systems were fine–no thyroid, heart, kidney, liver issues. I need to get my annual glaucoma exam next month.

Met with a personal trainer who is a former body builder, been training for almost 50 years and is well acquainted with rehab and arthritis. He is also a very personable guy. We talked a lot about my history and he is showing me the best exercises and machines to use to get the best workout with the least risk. Turns out I already know a lot about what to do. Now it becomes a matter of doing it. I have 2 more sessions to go. Wish we could afford more. I may have to put that in the budget somehow. Let’s see…who what can we sell?

Saw my first psychiatrist today. We reviewed my medical history. He asked me some key questions. Discovered I most likely have double depression(great) which is a low level of depression (hereditary or naturally occurring) with major life events piled on top–especially postpartum. Having 3 babies in less than 3 years counts, stress, grief. Plus my current medication produces anti-motivation and weight gain side effects. God only knows how I get out of bed in the morning. He is switching my meds. Unfortunately, coming off the med I currently take in such a high dose causes severe withdrawal so friends who have ever offered to help with crazy mommy time, I’ll be calling you soon. He is doing it VERY gradually and dovetailing the new med VERY gradually. We’ll see how this goes. My poor family.

Anyway, some progress being made. If you’re so inclined I’d appreciate your prayers for a smooth med transition.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Good news on the progress and the plans. Keep pressing forward—you know I’m rooting for you! Prayin for ya…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Beth on August 31, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    I am so happy your health is improving! And know that you and your family are always in my prayers.

    Reply

  3. Posted by FADDIE on March 22, 2014 at 12:27 am

    NOBODYCARES!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

