Race For the White House

Just checked in on Big Is The New Small who said months ago that we will see the first black President in this election. He also mentions how he takes the opportunity to teach his boys about the Civil Rights Movement and that just over 40 years ago (man, that’s so short), Black People weren’t even allowed to vote. Just typing that fact is surreal to me. As a pasty white suburban girl growing up in the 70s & 80s, I have little memory of the turbulence of civil rights in the U.S. So when people talk about this being an historic election, I have to actually think about that fact.

During the Democratic convention, I remember a reference to an 80 yr old black woman who is a delegate and wondering how she must feel seeing an African American man as the potential President of the U.S. You KNOW she has seen a ton of crap in her lifetime. I have not seen any of that up close and personal. So through this process, I have thought of Barack Obama as Barack Obama, a Senator running for President. And the words,”what’s the big deal?” actually come into my head. He’s just a guy right? I feel uncomfortable thinking that because I know there is an entire community of people that have been waiting for this moment for a lifetime. I don’t have a frame of reference for this. Until a woman is elected, I guess.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Some people just don’t get this whole voting thing.

    Now THAT’S scary!

    Reply

  2. Well said; although I may not agree with his politics… this outcome kinda jacked me up in a good way!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Beth on November 5, 2008 at 9:34 am

    It concerns me that people voted for the color of his skin vs. his politics. I think you had the right attitude in seeing him as a man running, not as a Black man running. I don’t care what color your skin is, I am concerned about your policies, experience, and ability to run this nation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

