I Rant Because I Can

Alright. I’ve been exploring blogworld and leaving comments here and there and I have to say–I didn’t realize how much I have to say–about this election, first black president, some conservatives in a tizzy thing. So I’ll just spew…

I didn’t vote for Barack Obama. I don’t like government all up in my face. Yet, it’s interesting to see the McCain voters who still hold some level of admiration at Obama’s victory. It is historic. The issues may not all have been about race but what if they were? What are we afraid of?  I like the idea fact that my kids don’t see it odd that a black man is President. Shoot, they don’t even know he’s black. They don’t even know they’re white.

I was most excited by the enthusiasm (or angst) of the citizens of this country who got off their assets and voted or got involved in the process.

Obama is not the devil incarnate, as far as I know. I’ve never met him. He’s young. He inspires. I hope that doesn’t stop. And of course he will make mistakes as all leaders do. So then, vote him out next time around.

I’m sad at some Christians’ comments of fear and utter despair. I’m not talking about disappointment that your guy didn’t win or disagreement with politics but there is some serious “whoa is me” going on out there. Did God watch the last 20 months wringing his hands muttering “hope he doesn’t win”? Did He step out for a minute during the election returns and come back thinking “what the? I can’t leave you alone for one minute.”

I like roller coasters. I get bored easily. I like the shake up. That’s not to say that I’m going to agree with how the world is run–I don’t do that now! But keep hands and feet inside the car at all times and fasten your seat belts. I sense a wild ride comin’.

10 responses to this post.

  1. I LOVE this post Joni!

    dang. say it like you mean it!

    well said. i concur!

    Reply

  2. I agree very much. I got comments on my own blog chewing me out for voting for Obama telling me it’s “the beginning of the end for America.” Where does this stuff come from?

    Reply

  3. I agree Joni!! God is on His throne! I love the visual of God sitting up there in heaven pacing, unsure of what He will do if Obama is elected! Seriously.

    Reply

  4. I for one am sick of the “Obama is the Anti-Christ (or insert other scary term here)” emails!!

    I’m sorry to say that I didn’t vote on Tuesday, but KY expectedly went the way I was headed so not sure it made a difference this year.

    I’m hearing whisperings all around of how it’s looking like the end-times are being fulfilled, etc etc. I’d say that’s been whispered about many times through our history. Truth is, we have no idea when that will be and just because the Democrats are in the majority again doesn’t mean the end of the world.

    Sheesh.

    Reply

  5. People who SAY they are Christian who are in fear and despair have more faith in their government than their God.

    One might rightly question their faith in the Savior.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Beth on November 6, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I got this in an email…thought you might enjoy.

    Top 10 Facts No Matter Who Wins the Election:

    1. The Bible will still have all the answers.

    2. Prayer will still work.

    3. The Holy Spirit will still move.

    4. God will still inhabit the praises of His people.

    5. There will still be God-anointed preaching.

    6. There will still be singing of praise to God.

    7. God will still pour out blessings upon His people.

    8. There will still be room at the Cross.

    9. Jesus will still love you.

    10. Jesus will still save the lost when they come to Him.

    AND God approves this message!

    ISN’T IT GREAT TO KNOW WHO IS REALLY IN CHARGE!!!!!

    Reply

  7. It’s amazing the hurtful words that are coming out of people’s mouths. What is even more disturbing is that children are repeating these words. Words they have heard from their parents. On Monday after school Gabe came down from class to Extended care and was very disturbed. Two children in his class during a mock election made fun of the children who cast a vote for Obama. They said they were voting for a baby killer. Gabe was angry and confused and needed answers. He and I sat and discussed it and he seemed to understand better.
    I was absolutely shocked that these children even uttered the phrase. It really made me wonder what else they were hearing at home.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Beth on November 7, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Edith – we had the same thing happen in our school! In fact it was a huge ordeal because a student stood up in the first grade class and made that comment, then the teacher repeated it to clarify that it wasn’t true. Unfortunately, quite a few of the kids did not hear the student make the original comment – just the teacher! And they were so shocked about the information that they didn’t hear her make the “It isn’t true” comment. The school was in turmoil for about a week! The kids had heard that Obama was going to kill all the babies that weren’t born yet! Tough stuff for a first grader…or any child!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Chris on November 8, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    You know, all you “Christians” out there need to remember something…. Every single American could have voted for 1 candidate …. But if God wanted the other to win, they would have won… The man God wanted to win, won…. How many elections have you watched in the past, showed people in EVERY corner of the world cheering and celebrating? Have you ever stopped to think that maybe since Obama DOES NOT fit your stereotypical idea of what a President should be, maybe God put him in office, because he can bring the world back together…. Yeah, it IS the beginning of the end, but not the way its being looked at right now…… Take a closer look into Revelations and study it…. These are all signs of the final days…… Oh yeah, one more thing…. I DID vote for Obama…. Because of the MAN, not the skin

    Reply

  10. Chris I think God gets credit and blame for lots of things that he had not planned.

    Remember the Israelites just had to have a King? One God did NOT want them to have but He said “okay then you can have what you want” (paraphrase of course). Remember what followed? Judgement.

    What “you Christians” really need to remember is that Holy Scripture requires each of us to pray for those in authority.

    Do you really think that just because “people in EVERY corner of the world cheering and celebrating” means that God’s will has been done?

    How about Syria, Iran, the Taliban, etc?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

