Random acts of kidness

Annaliese at any given point in the day will say, “I love you mom” completely unrelated to anything else going on.

JD: “I just want to be snuggly with you”  Alas, at age almost 6, I fear the end is near for little boy time unless it includes a dinosaur, light saber or laser gun.

Overheard kids playing rock paper scissors in the truck:

“Rock, paper, scissors, shoot! Ohhh paper covers rock! hahaha”; “Rock, paper, scissors, shoot! Ohhh rock pounds the scissors hahaha”; “Rock, paper, scissors, shoot! JD, what is that?” “Its a laser. Laser shoots everything.” “JayDeee, its rock, paper, scissors! There aren’t any lasers! Mom! JD made a laser…(and so on)”

Laying on the couch minutes after burning my stomach with scalding water, Annaliese approaches: “Here mom, you can have my blankie. Sometimes it makes me feel better.”

img_1486

I was lying in bed one Saturday still trying to wrestle sleep out of the time continuum with a very sore back. Again, Annaliese: “Mom? You can sleep with my dog and my bear. They make me feel better sometimes.”

While I’m looking over Maddie’s homework, and sometimes right in the middle of doing her homework, Maddie will use up a good 10 post it notes: “I love you Mom” written in a talk balloon next to a small stick figure. Then she’ll right a reply out of a taller stick figure “I love you too Maddie.” Or sometimes she’ll draw a blank line for me to write my response–which she dictates. She’ll draw Champ, a cat, a mouse, a boat, a letter to her teacher.  img_1675

If the kids are playing with toys in their room and Champ enters: “Ahhh its a giant black mosquitoooooo! Run for your life!!!!”   If Doug enters the room just getting home from work: “Ahhh its a giant!!!!! Run for your life!!!”

If Maddie is having a difficult time making a choice, I know whatever I suggest, she’ll pick the opposite. Knowing this gives me super powers.

Their lives consist of adventures. Every task (sometimes very annoying) is a chance to imagine. And everyone they meet for the most part are heroes or rock stars. They are Spiderman, Bat Man or Super Girl rescuing a princess; fighting bad guys; they sail in ships; rescue whales; fly planes or spaceships; they are puppies, dinosaurs, kitties, horses, mommies, babies, fruit bats(Annaliese is the designated fruit bat), rock stars, veterinarians, doctors, teachers, a handyman, a baseball player, explorers. We have fun around here. Just listen out your window because I’m sure you can hear us for miles!

5 responses to this post.

  1. will you adopt me?

    seriously. i want to be in your family.

    if i could live my childhood over – id choose your home. i love the love you have fostered and nurtured into your children.

    you are a great mom, joni!

    Reply

  2. Aww Annaliese is a little sweetheart to share her comforts with you.

    The kids are adorable.

    I like the dog too. We have a chocolate; she’s the best dog we’ve ever had.

    Reply

  3. All those great stories are the treasures we recieve as Moms. The wonder and amazement children see in everyday life baffles me. I love catching those little glimpses and just bask in all their wonder. Don’t worry about JD not wanting to snuggle. Gabe is 9 and nighttime before bed is always his Mom and gabe snuggle time. Boys will always need their Mamas.

    Reply

  4. Meg is the same way with choices. I bet your Maddie is a little drama queen too 🙂 I’m convinced Meg will do well as a lawyer or actress.

    Thanks for sharing such sweet everyday moments with us. It makes me remember why I’m doing this “thing” I do.

    Reply

  5. Oh wow….her wanting to share her blankie is SSSOOOO sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

