What’s the F?

I put up my outdoor Christmas lights tonight. That’s Doug’s job. But not this year. No biggie? I got up on a 7 ft aluminum ladder, the last hour in a snow storm. I tested them first, figured out how to clip them   to my gutter, fell against the side of the house once because one side of the ladder sunk into the dirt(blasted chipmunks). I moved that stupid ladder 3 ft at a time across the front of my house. JD, Annaliese and I stuck the walkway trees along the walkway. Plugged it all in and voila! Merry Christmas! It’s certainly not as impressive as my neighbor’s grand display but hey, I did it. I’m not allowed on the ladder. No choice this year. I really wanted the lights up. 

img_0120

  What’s with the F on the roof you ask? Well, a few years ago, Doug completely lined the roof with lights. He couldn’t stop himself and stapled a giant cross in the middle of the roof. You know, reason for the season and all. Now since he’s developed arthritis in his knee, he can’t get back up on the roof to remove the lights. With the exception of the icicle lights, the unlit strings of lights remain stapled to the roof all year round. Yes, we’re THOSE people. Well, if any of the strings don’t get plugged in just so, only part of the cross and the top of the roof light up. Our neighbor asked us two years ago–in the middle of summer, “What’s with the F on your roof?”She thought perhaps we were making some derogatory exclamation. Doug hadn’t unplugged the lights from his garage power strip and they came on with one of the power tools I believe. Doug knows what to do to get all the lights to work, but I don’t and he’s not home much.

So JD and I tried to come up with a purpose for the “F”. He thought maybe we could say Merry Christmas Freddy or something. I could only think of one thing. So let me just say to all, Happy Festivus! And to all a good night! 🙂

8 responses to this post.

  1. Way to go Joni! The pic looks awesome! Your one rocking Mama! I’m not allowed to touch any Christmas lights or displays. That job belongs to Dad who’s retired. So yes it looks like a store display in front of our house.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lisa on December 3, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    You could always tell people you’ve changed your last name to Fruhs – you know, make it a monogram.

    Just saying….

    Reply

  3. Posted by annetteoatright on December 3, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    That’s great!!! I’ve never attempted lights…
    I loved the “F” story….too funny.

    Reply

  4. Way to go, Joni! I put up all the lights that don’t require a ladder. The rest are his.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sherri on December 4, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Joni,

    Just add an “N”, and sing “Feliz Navidad!” for the next 21 days!

    OR…

    Explain to Maddie, JD and Annaliese that you needed a unique way to signal Santa to find your house on Christmas Eve!

    Reply

  6. Festivus the holiday for the rest of us!!!

    I love Seinfeld.

    Do you ever notice that so many things in life relate back to Seinfeld?

    Scary.

    Reply

  7. Oh, and our house will have no lights this year because, I am not getting up on a stupid high ladder .

    Reply

  8. it takes a lot to get me to laugh out loud…especially when im alone in a room. girl! you get me too all the time!

    but seriously! you do not need to be on the ladder!

    i want to flick you on the forehead for that one 😕

    Reply

Leave a Reply

