You’re cutting WHAT off?

My very good friend gave birth to a gorgeous baby boy last week. It’s their 3rd child and first boy. We received an invitation today. An excerpt…

 

It’s a boy!

Celebrate our bringing our son into the covenant with God through
circumsicion.

For the generations to come every male among you who is eight days old must be circumcised…My covenant in your flesh is to be an everlasting covenant.
Genesis 17:12-13

 

This is a traditional ceremony called B’Rit Milah or Bris in the
Jewish community. 

So I emailed Doug the time and date and particulars. His reply follows.

I’m not sure I can…………… OUCH!!!!!

Seriously…….. I’m not sure I can……….

I know……. get over myself…………..

I’m not sure I can……………

What about the kids………….

So many thoughts…………..

d.

Now, I was not in the room at the hospital when my son was circumcised. I’m told he slept through it. Maybe Doug can come for the after party.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I went to the bris of my cousin’s twins. A two-fer! Snip, snip. Seriously, the moyle (rabbi with this specialty) did it right on the dining room table.

    Not much to see. Everything is very tiny. There is shrinkage.

    Makes you appreciate Joshua who had to recircumsize everyone before they entered Canaan. Holy Adult Circumcision, Batman!

    Reply

  2. Acts 16:3 circumcised him. The Jerusalem council had declared that circumcision was not necessary for salvation or for acceptance into the Christian church (15:19), but because of Timothy’s part-Jewish background it seemed expedient in his case, in order to enlarge his local usefulness in witnessing. In the case of Gentile Titus, Paul insisted that he not be circumcised (Gal. 2:3).

    Circumcision is no longer required to have a relationship with God.

    Also I read a news article some time back about a man who’s face was burned. The doctors used the foreskin to fashion new eyelids. No kidding.

    Reply

  3. Because we’re not Jewish, and the doctor said there’s no medical reason for it, I chose not to have my boys circumcised. We’ll that and I just cringe at the very idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

