Is Somewhere Down The Road Good Enough?

I used to be better at accepting bad news that begs the question why or how. Why is this happening to such good people? How can this possibly be of any benefit or for the greater good? My stock answer has usually been, “we may never know this side of heaven” and “who are we to ask why? God will never leave us in this hard time.” But the last year has really attacked my uber-spiritual attitude and I am in the thick of “why, why, why”–more so for others because Doug & I have been amazingly blessed and safe. It is difficult to accept with grace, that even though we prayed and prayed and prayed in many situations, our will was not done.

Below are lyrics to one of my favorite songs about this very subject. Amy Grant performed it live at the memorial service for the victims of the Columbine High School shootings in 1999.

Lyrics to Somewhere Down The Road(Behind The Eyes 1997) :
(Amy Grant & Wayne Kirkpatrick)

So much pain and no good reason why
You’ve cried until the tears run dry
And nothing here can make you understand
The one thing that you held so dear
Is slipping from your hands
And you say

Why, why, why
Does it go this way
Why, why, why
And all I can say is

[Chorus:]
Somewhere down the road
There’ll be answers to the questions
Somewhere down the road
Though we cannot see it now
Somewhere down the road
You will find mighty arms reaching for you
And they will hold the answers at the end of the road

Yesterday I thought I’d seen it all
I thought I’d climbed the highest wall
Now I see the learning never ends
And all I know to do is keep on walking
Walking ’round the bend, saying

Why, why, why
Does it go this way
Why, why, why
And all I can say is

Somewhere down the road
There’ll be answers to the questions
Somewhere down the road
Though we cannot see it now
Somewhere down the road
You will find mighty arms reaching for you
And they will hold the answers at the end of the road

Why, why, why
Does it go this way
Why, why, why
And all I can say is
All I know to say now

Somewhere down the road
There’ll be answers to the questions
Somewhere down the road
Though we cannot see it now
Somewhere down the road
You will find mighty arms reaching for you
And they will hold the answers at the end of the road

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Momma Donna on September 4, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Joni,
    I don’t think you are alone in your “feelings.” From where I stand personally, as I become older I still have these “why” things happen. When we lose the people we love so dearly to death, or just lose those we have loved to circumstances beyond our control, or see those we love dearly suffering, it just hurts all the way to our bones. We need to remember, and I’m sure you do, that God is in control and has a better plan for the future than we can ever imagine. Some of my valleys have been pretty deep, but the mountain tops more than make up for that. We just keep trusting our Lord and know, we as Believers are the winners in the end.

    Reply

  2. Gosh I don’t think any human being has ever not asked “why” at one point or another in their life.

    The “suddenlies” are the most difficult for me. When my son-in-law was KIA in Afghanistan… I should have prayed more for him. Why didn’t the guys in the up armored Humvee… Why was HE the only one killed? Why didn’t Buddy just wait… like the others?

    In the end those who go before us are better off. Imagine being Lazerus. Being in Paradise for three days and being called back to this fallen earth.

    My pastor says the better question should be (in this fallen world) Why not?

    http://mssc54.wordpress.com/our-american-hero/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

