A Week To Look Back Pt 1-1984

25 years ago this month, I was in a car accident caused by a drunk driver. I was thrown across the car to the passenger windshield where my head/face hit. Bent the shift bar  (on the console not the steering column) 90 degrees with my left ankle. Had a concussion, crushed left ankle, sprained right wrist, windshield glass in forehead, eyelids, face and across neck. One parked car was sideswiped, 4 mailboxes and posts mowed down, and my car kept from entering a house by hitting the tree in the front yard. I had no idea I hit a tree. I was the drunk. By the grace of God, I survived and no other person was involved aside from the property damage.

Two 1/2 weeks in the hospital, 2 ankle surgeries, plastic surgery, and a cast for 3 months. I was told I would never walk without a limp nor play tennis and softball(my signature sports at the time) again. I did eventually play tennis and softball but only for another 10 years. Man I wish I could still play tennis.

So maybe next time a Chiropractor, Neurosurgeon or Orthopedist asks was there any sort of event that caused the pain I’m in now, I should say, “Yeah. The ingestion of an 8 oz tumbler of Southern Comfort and two beers in less than an hour on an empty stomach before getting into the car.”  Good times.

I haven’t thought about this in detail for awhile. It just occurred to me that it’s been 25 years. There are so many facets and lessons in this thing but honestly I’d only be preachin’ to the choir and I don’t feel like saying much else. Just looking back.


2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow. What do I think when I read this? That for some unknown reason, it never happened to me. And yes, 25 yrs has gone by way too fast for all of us I think!

    Reply

  2. I hope you will never be involved in another car accident ! I enjoyed the post. Best wishes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

